Universal Credit

Universal Credit (UC) replaces six working age benefits with a single monthly payment similar to a monthly working wage.

The six benefits replaced by UC are as follows:

  • Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance (JSA)
  • Income-related Employment and Support Allowance (ESA)
  • Income Support (IS)
  • Child Tax Credits (CTC)
  • Working Tax Credits (WTC)
  • Housing Benefit (HB)

What is Housing Benefit?

Housing Benefit is help towards rent and some other housing costs. Do you know if you are liable to Housing benefit?

Have your benefits stopped?

Benefits are stopped for failing to do something you have been asked, by the Job Centre, such as attending an interview or completing an application form.

Council Tax is a priority bill

Council Tax is a priority payment and everyone of working age, except those with a severe mental impairment will be liable for some of their Council Tax bill.

Unsure about each type of benefit?

Benefits are changing all the time and this can be confusing. What benefit are you entitled to?

Did you know…

8.8 million people across the UK are struggling with money, yet only 1.5 million people are currently seeking help – Don’t bury your head in the sand contact Cash Wise if you need any help